2nd Issue of the Right 2 Survive News Letter

Posted: March 21, 2012 in Uncategorized

Right 2 Survive, Right 2 Survive is a homeless advocacy group made up of houseless, formally houseless folks, and their supporters.

 

R2S goes out into the community organizing people to stand up for their human, civil, and constitutional rights.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“What we have found in this country And maybe were more aware of it now is one problem that were had even in the best of times and that is people who are sleeping on the grates the homeless you might say by choice 

                                                By Ronald Reagan            

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Some of the things R2S is working on:

 

> Radio Show April 11th, 2012

> National Day of Action for Right to Exist April 1st, 2012

> Fundraiser April 1st, 2012

> Waive the Fines “on going action”

> Lucy’s birthday party March 22nd, 2012

> Right 2 Survive Meeting Thursday March       22nd, 2012

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

By Amber Dunks

“Purpose”

 

I’ve been thinking a lot about what the purpose of Right 2 Dream Too is. Our primary goal is safe uninterrupted sleep for the houseless. However that’s not all we do. We also provide food for the hungry (when available), clothing, extra blankets (for those sleeping in doorways) and a listening ear when needed. To put it simply, we help our fellow human being. So my question is, why are we been fined and criminalized for not turning a blind eye to human suffering?

 

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

“I have a dream” speech, August 28th, 1963

           

I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of character.

            MLK

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

By Ibrahim M.

                                “The Cost of Living”   

Inflation’s on a nation: can’t buy a car, to ride the bus is not cheap, and in the food department you can’t pay those prices with Jabbar’s sky hook.

                Rent is affordable to whom? the cost of living wages take home pay, won’t take you home. A one bed room apartment at least is averaging $709.00 – 1167.00 a month in Portland plus the 1st and last month’s rent and deposit. Again, I ask Affordable to Whom

What does it cost you to live in this city? As we used to say when I was growing up , “it

costs you two arms and a leg”.

Somehow the rich get richer and the poor, well, just don’t have a chance.

                Downtown on 4th and Burnside, the Right 2 Dream too Rest Area is for the houseless community, where you can sleep in tents for 12hrs plus with your partner, your pet, or by yourself, is being hit by the cost of living in the streets. The city officials are charging us an outrageous amount of money where houseless people who can’t afford to rent apartments, who can’t get a decent job, who had trouble in the past, who just can’t find a safe place to rest at night. 

                The charge is 641.00 for two months then it doubles every two months after that and it continues to double every two months and continues If we had the money  to pay the fines we wouldn’t be in tents we would be in a vacant lot. 

                There you don’t have to worry about the police fining you for trespassing, or a group walking pass you while you sleep on the side walk and do prank jokes on you like urinate on you, or being the victim of a hate crime, or being molested. That is the real cost of living on the streets.

                Have you ever wondered where will the money go that they take from the houseless people? Will it go into the affordable housing plan hum! Somebody got the terrible twos, you know two houses two cars two bank accounts, and this is old fashion down right GREED. It’s “The COST of LIVING” 

~~~~~~~~~~

By Keith Johnson 

“Top of the Stairs”

Top of the stairs at Hollywood Transit Center. “Hey Keith wait up please“. I turn around and see the that one of the youth I was talking to at the outreach center last night was running up to me. I ask him why he had stopped me. He said that he needed help to get clean. I said ok let’s go to Hooper. We went to treatment and were able to get him in. The real reason I help these youth is to show them that someone is always here to help. The Teddy Bear is there to lend a helping hand, or an ear to listen.

 UPCOMING MEETINGS

 

MEETINGS FOR R2S & R2DTOO- ARE ON THURSDAYS @ SISTERS OF THE ROAD CAFÉ FROM 5-7PM, WE’LL HAVE FOOD AND AN ACTION PACKED AGENDA! ALL ARE WELCOME

~~~~~~~~~

 

DOROTHY DAY COMMUNITY SCHOOL STARTS UP MARCH 10, 2012, FROM 1-5PM

APRIL 7-8, 2012 WILL BE A 2 DAY RETREAT. CONTACT LUCY AT SORC

Lucy@sistersoftheroad.org

~~~~~~~~~~

R2S RADIO LISTENING PARTY- KBOO 90.7AM FROM 5:30 TO 7:30

“New to the Streets’

AT SORC ON April 11th, 2012

SNACKS AND DRINKS WILL BE PROVIDED

                                ~~~~~~~~~

Fundraiser April 1st at the Red and Black café from 7pm to 10pm come join us it will be a blast

 

National Day of Action: Right to Exist April 1st at Pioneer Square from 2-4pm. Please come be part of this action. We will also be having a Right 2 Dream Too action there as well.

 

Lucy’s birthday is 3/22/12.  It’s being held at Andrea’s Cha Cha club. Donations are going to Right 2 Dream Too. So come enjoy food and dancing.

 

By Art Rios Sr.

“Beyond the Streets”

It was cold outside, nowhere to go to get out of the rain. It stormed that night and I was soaked to the bone. My tent my blankets as well as my backpack with all my important papers. What was I to do? Coming to my wits end I could not take it anymore. The next day i went and signed up for CCC housing. They said it would be awhile before they could help me. I was not ok with that. One month, 6 months, then 2 years, then again another year. They called me and told me that I would need my ID, Birth Certificate, Pay Stubs, or income. I told them I was staying at the Clarke Center. It was very hard staying there. During all this I had about a $100 addiction. I was in and out of jail, court, and sometime a lot of treatment centers.  Did my best and finally graduated out of Stop Court. 667 days in the program. Yes now I have housing and moved into my own apartment. Started working with Sisters of the Road. I’m an Advocate for the Houseless. There is a light at the end of the tunnel. You just have to find it in your heart and soul.

Art

                                                                                                

Contact us: R2SPDX@GMAIL.COM

FACEBOOK: Right to survive

PHONE: 503-839-9992

WWW.RIGHT2SURVIVE.WORDPRESS.COM Image

Leave a Reply

