Mayor Charlie Hales is interviewed in Street Roots

Posted: March 1, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

Image

“I.B.: What’s the answer for Right 2 Dream Too?

C.H.: I think the answer is a different site that is a good place to live that doesn’t have the friction that that site has. I was on the council when we approved the creation of Dignity Village. It is clearly a success.

It seems to me that Right 2 Dream Too is on the way to being that kind of sustainable, self-managed community. It’s not in the right location on the corner of Fourth and Burnside. I think there are partnership possibilities between organizers and residents of Right 2 Dream, property owners, other non-profits and public agencies that will lead to positive outcomes.

I went out to Dignity Village last fall. I am impressed. I’ve been to Right 2 Dream a couple of times. You see people really doing a great job, managing that enterprise for themselves. I’ve got a lot of confidence in the capacity of those folks to make this work. It’s up to the larger community, me included, to try to find a place for the camp to land that makes sense.”

Visit Street Roots to read the whole article on Mayor Hales’ views of what he proposes.

 

Posted by Ruthie Benjamin

Comments
  1. […] working to empower the houseless and disenfranchised, and to oppose abuses of power by government (by Right 2 Survive)  […]

Leave a Reply

